Skip to content

Magnet Innovation Center!

January 26, 2020

Students at the Magnet Innovation Center are hard at work in their Principles of Engineering class designing, building and executing their latest projects. 
Sophia Roessler and Emily Sidrony are working on designing, Blake Stevenson, Tray Toups and Davis Cleveland are building and Dalton Robinson is executing his project in the world of virtual reality to see if all components in his design are working effectively so he can move into the building stage.
MIC students building
MIC student with VR headset

Walton High's FBLA participated in the 2019-2020 FBLA District 1 competition at the University of West Florida on January 23 and won 19 awards, with 17 students placing fifth or above. At this time, at least six members are going to the state convention in Orlando March 12-15. Two other district awards were won by Jordan Young (for Outstanding Member) and Taylor Grace (for Who's Who).

WHS FBLA District


Walton High School’s Culinary 1 students recently received hands-on experience with our Food Service Director, Robert Martin, in the Walton High School cafeteria and kitchen. Receiving goods and determining if anything needs to be rejected are important skills in the food service industry. Mr. Martin provided students with an invoice and products to examine, while Culinary Arts teacher Ms. Spice took students to check on the temperatures in the walk-in cooler and freezer as well as the rotation of goods in the store room.

WHS Culinary with Robert Martin

WHS Culinary with Robert Martin

WHS Culinary with Robert Martin

Walton County School District celebrated all those selected as school based 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year and Educational Support Professional of the Year tonight at the annual TOY/ESPOY Awards Ceremony!

We are proud to announce our 2019-2020 WCSD Teacher of the Year, Jeannine Abadie, from Emerald Coast Middle School! Huge Congratulations to Ms Abadie, math specialist at ECMS!!! We look forward to your representation of our EPIC District in the coming year!

Congratulations also to our new WCSD Educational Support Professional of the Year, Lisbeth "Anne" Turner, from Freeport High School! Thanks for all you have done to help so many at FHS, and in the Freeport Community!

Selected as the 2019-2020 WCSD Assistant Principal of the Year was Mr. Scott Hulion, Assistant Principal at Walton Middle School! Way to go, Mr. Hulion! Mr. Hulion is an exemplary Administrator, and a tremendous asset to Walton Middle School and the WCSD!

Assistant principal of the year

Selected as the 2019-2020 WCSD Principal of the Year is Dr. Alexis Tibbetts, Principal at South Walton High School! Congratulations to Dr. Tibbetts for her incredible accomplishments at SWHS! Under her leadership, the SeaHawks have doubled in numbers and soared in academic excellence!

Teacher of the year 2019-2020

Special thanks to St. Joe Community Foundation for their support of our event, and the very generous monetary award presented to our Teacher of the Year and ESP of the Year!  
St Joe and TOY 2019-2020

Another very special event of the evening was the presentation by 2018-2019 Teacher of the Year, Meredith Ness, of a framed copy of the Congressional Record recognizing Ms. Jeannine Abadie as WCSD Teacher of the Year, and Ms. Lisbeth Turner as WCSD Educational Support Professional of the Year by the Hon. Matt Gaetz.  

Meredith Ness at TOY

Our Walton County School Board members and Superintendent Hughes are hard at work this week advocating for our students and teachers at the 33rd Annual Day in the Legislature in Tallahassee, Florida!
#AmazingLeadership #WCSB #EPICSuperintendent #Advocacy #MakingtheConnections
33rd Annual Day in the Legislature
Standing: L to R:
Marsha Winegarner; William Eddins; Senator Gainer; Jason Catalano;
Seated: Kim Kirby
33rd Annual Day in the Legislature
Pictured L to R:
Marsha Winegarner; Kim Kirby; Representative Chris Latvala; Jason Catalano; William Eddins; Superintendent Russell Hughes
33rd Annual Day in the Legislature
Pictured L to R:
Jason Catalano;Marsha Winegarner; Rep. Brad Drake; Kim Kirby; William Eddins
Florida Space Day in the Capital
Florida Space Day in the Capitol!
School Board Members Marsha Winegarner; William Eddins; Jason Catalano; and Kim Kirby
33rd Annual Day in the Legislature
Marsha Winegarner; Kim Kirby; William Eddins; Jason Catalano
Chancellor Oliva and Dpt Chancellor Burns
Florida's Deputy Chancellor of Education, Paul Burns; William Eddins; Kim Kirby; Marsha Winegarner; Florida's Chancellor of Education, Jacob Oliva; Jason Catalano
33rd Annual Day in the Legislature
Friday, January 17, 2020 was a great day at WISE Center Programs for In"10"sity and ALC students! Organized by our Guidance Counselor, Mrs. Varnum the winter Title I event, "Bring Your Parents to School Day" was a huge success. Mrs. Varnum had events planned throughout the day,  which began with parents and students enjoying a pancake breakfast served by faculty and staff. There were breakout sessions for parents as seen in the attached picture, led by teachers Andrea Schiller and Jamie Ramsey. Parents and teachers were able to collaborate and discuss ideas related to Title I and school improvement, each gaining valuable insight. The day included a selfie station for parents and their children, 1st semester awards and recognition and concluded with a STEAM Club  Pie the Teacher/Administrator Fundraiser. Thank you to our parents and students for their participation, and to District level Title I staff for their help in the planning and implementation of this amazing event.

Congratulations to the following Walton High students for recently earning their Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS) certification!  This rigorous course is designed to help students achieve mastery in the use of Microsoft software applications, which will allow them to earn an internationally-recognized certification that will broaden post-secondary and employment opportunities.

Sarah Bush
Jenna Curtis
Alexander Duncan (Expert certification)
Jader Granja
Ashanti Hawkins
Chloe Hernandez
Lacey Hopper
Kanye Patrick
Brandon Pickard
John Powell
Latrell Shipman
Gillian Thepchantee
Kira Young (not pictured)
Beautiful Warner
Jaiden Willis




Congratulations to the middle school FFA chapter of Paxton, who took 1st place at the district competition and will be competing at the state competition in June. Pictured (L to R): Colten Phillips, Makalynn Cassady, Clara Martin, Madison Falk, Kiley Edwards, Addie Cook, and Hydie Varnum. Congratulations to the Parlimentary Procedure team, who received 2nd place. Pictured (L to R): Hailey Sexton, Cassie Varnum, Haylee Hayes, Macie Dell, Ashlyn Hall, and Jordyn Bradley.


Further congratulations to the individual FFA members who recieved the following awards:

Extemporaneous Speaking - 1st place
Colten Phillips

Colton Phillips PAX FFA

Prepared Public - 2nd Place
Clara Martin

Clara Martin PAX FFA