Controlled Open Enrollment

Open Enrollment Window

The Open Enrollment Window for the 2024-2025 school year is open from January 1 to March 1, 2024. Please submit the appropriate application (with documentation) to the requested school.

Controlled Open Enrollment (COE)

The School Board of Walton County is adopting a policy guiding Controlled Open Enrollment as required by law under State Statute 1002.31, Florida Statutes. Controlled Open Enrollment (COE) allows a parent from any district in Florida to enroll and transport his or her student to any public school that has not reached capacity. Certain students, such as dependents of active duty military whose move resulted from military orders, or students relocated due to foster care placement, receive priority for seat assignment within a school.

District School Capacities

At or Above Capacity (Closed to COE) 

  • Freeport Elementary School

  • Freeport Middle School

  • Freeport High School

  • Mossy Head School

  • South Walton High School

  • Van R. Butler Elementary School

  • West DeFuniak Elementary School

Under Capacity (Open to COE)           

  • Dune Lakes Elementary School

  • Emerald Coast Middle School

  • Maude Saunders Elementary School

  • Paxton School

  • Walton High School

  • Walton Middle School

Updated February 2024

Are there any district schools that are not part of the Controlled Open Enrollment process?

The following schools are either a Magnet program, an alternative school, or a Charter school and have separate criteria for admissions. Please contact the school directly for enrollment information. 

  • Bay School 

  • Magnet Innovation Center

  • Seacoast Collegiate High School

  • Seaside School

  • Walton Academy Charter School   

  • WISE Alternative Learning Center

  • Walton In"10"sity School of Excellence

  • Walton Virtual School

Do I need to submit a Controlled Open Enrollment Application?

  • Submit a completed application if your student is requesting to attend a new school that is outside of the transportation zone.

  • Do not submit an application if your student is attending or plans to attend a school inside of the transportation zone.

  • Charter Schools:  Charter schools are public schools that are a part of Florida's program of public education. The School Board of Walton County is the sponsor of the charter schools located in Walton County, but they do not govern them. Please contact the specific charter school of interest for more information on their application process.

Application Process

If your student is interested in attending a school outside of the transportation zone, please see Walton County School District's Controlled Open Enrollment Plan using the link below. You will need to complete a Controlled Open Enrollment Application for Attendance and a Controlled Open Enrollment Student Performance Contract for the appropriate school year. Please take the completed application with supporting documentation and the completed student performance contract to the requested school and submit to appropriate school personnel.


If you would like more information, please contact the school in your transportation zone, the requested school, or the Walton County School District Office at (850) 892-1100.